Jordan Walker-Brown was shot electronically in May 2020 in Haringey, north London, leaving him with life-threatening serious injuries, including a spinal cord injury. The CPS decision to indict the unnamed officer, following an investigation by the Independent Police Behavior Office (IOPC) last year. The IOPC investigation found that there was evidence that the officer may have committed serious bodily harm. The officer will appear in Westminster court on April 19. Walker-Brown, 25, was stopped by Met Territorial Support team officers for two consecutive days, May 3 and 4, 2020, and both times transported a small amount of cannabis for personal use. On May 4, 2020, Walker-Brown was spotted by a Met TSG officer and followed. He said in a statement that he started running when he saw two other police officers getting out of a van. He jumped over a wall, which was about 1.2 meters (4 feet) high on one side, but fell 1.8 meters (6 feet) on the other when it was hit by the Taser. Then it fell over the wall. In a statement, Walker-Brown said: “I also recognize that the law allowed the police to pursue me when I tried to escape. But what they were not allowed to do was use a Taser on me when they knew I was not a threat to them at all: I was running away from them. “I ran away from them precisely because of the threat they posed to me and my safety: a threat that, as a young black man, I could not afford to ignore. “I know I could easily join the long line of other blacks who died at the hands of the police.” Commenting on the CPS decision to prosecute, Walker-Brown said: “This decision is a welcome first step towards justice for what was done to me by this officer. “I am now looking to the CPS to ensure that this issue is pursued with a fair outcome.”