The schoolgirl was left with a piece of pistachio-sized fragment embedded in her brain after a Russian attack on her village in southern Ukraine last month. She is now recovering at the country’s top children’s hospital in Kyiv, with her head shaved and tied, with a tube protruding from the top to drain the fluid. War in Ukraine – latest updates Image: Sophia’s next big challenge is to start walking again Image: A brain scan shows where the shrapnel fell on Sophia’s brain “I was standing next to my mother and I heard an explosion,” he said, speaking in a soft, fragile voice, about the March 5 violence that changed their lives. “I ran – only three steps. Then I heard another explosion. And then I lost consciousness.” A military tour had erupted in their home. Sophia and her mother Liudmila, 48, were standing outside at the time. They did not want to give their last names for security reasons. The area from which they come is still under threat from Russian forces. “I woke up when my parents took me to the basement of our house. My mom took my legs and my father my arms. And then I fainted again.” Key developments: • At least 33 people were killed in a Russian rocket attack on a regional government building in the port of Mykolaiv • A Red Cross motorcade will make another attempt to evacuate civilians from the besieged city of Mariupol • Pope Francis condemns launches “wild” war and says it may visit Kyiv • Russia to suspend cooperation on International Space Station due to sanctions • US to provide additional security assistance to Ukraine, including laser-guided missile systems Image: Her mother thought she had just had a concussion in the beginning Her mother was slightly injured, with a cut next to her bleeding left eye. At first she did not realize that her daughter needed urgent medical help, thinking instead that she might have just had a concussion. “Only once in the hospital did I realize there was something in her head,” she said. They had gone to their local hospital in the nearby town of Mykolaiv, near the Black Sea. The doctors there managed to stabilize Sophia and put the tube in her head. But they did not have the special equipment needed to remove the toothed piece of metal that had leaked into her skull and stopped in the middle of her brain. Image: Ukraine said on Saturday that its forces had occupied all areas around Kyiv What are the chances of a peace agreement with Russia to end the conflict The only place in Ukraine with the ability to treat a young teenager was Ohmatdyt Children’s Hospital in Kyiv – about 250 miles away, in a country that had become a war zone. After almost three weeks of waiting, Lyudmila managed to transport her daughter there safely through the city of Odessa. Doctors immediately did a CT scan to better understand the injury. Pavlo Plavskyi, the hospital’s leading pediatric neurosurgeon, said Sophia’s survival was a miracle. She showed a 3D model of her skull on a computer screen, which showed the shards. If the metal had moved an inch more up, down or to the side it would have hit a vital part of the brain that could have killed it. However, it had stopped – deep in her skull – but without causing bleeding. “She had some signs of inflammation and the inflammation could be bleeding, so we decided to remove it,” said the surgeon. Image: Sophia is recovering at a leading children’s hospital in Kyiv “Ukraine has the best doctors in the world” The operation took place the next day. Lyudmila admitted that it was the only time she allowed herself to cry. “I was told this operation was really serious and difficult,” he said. “But now I believe that Ukraine has the best doctors in the world. And now I believe that the hands of doctors are controlled by God. It is a miracle.” The surgeon was sure. Asked if he had felt nervous about the procedure, he joked: “I’m a crazy neurosurgeon! “Always, just before an operation, I imagine how to do it. I imagine what I will do. I make preparations before the operation.” The process took only an hour and a half. “I’m very fast,” said the surgeon. He had to cut off an upper part of the skull, use long instruments to go deeper into the brain and retract the shrapnel, and then return the part of the skull. As for how he felt when he pulled the object, he said, “Fine – take a picture!” Use the Chrome browser for a more accessible video player 0:36 The city occupied by Russia in the first days of the war was recaptured in late March Subscribe to Ukraine War Calendars on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify and Spreaker Sophia, speaking on Saturday, said that she had already started to feel better from the operation that was done three days earlier. He is recovering in a bed in the basement of the hospital – safe from the threat of air raids that still hangs over Kyiv. Other patients choose to go up to the ward during the day and then just sleep underground, but this is still not enough. Her next big challenge is to start walking again. It is not clear how long he will need to stay in the hospital, but he has high ambitions to learn how to play the guitar as soon as he can return home. “I can also read music,” he said. “I’m dreaming of a guitar because ours broke. My dad promised to fix it. That’s why I’m dreaming of it. I want to have a black one.”


title: “Ukraine War Teenage Girl Recovering After Shrapnel Blasted Through Her Skull And Stopped In Middle Of Her Brain During Russian Attack World News " ShowToc: true date: “2022-10-31” author: “Scott Hyden”


The schoolgirl was left with a piece of pistachio-sized fragment embedded in her brain after a Russian attack on her village in southern Ukraine last month. She is now recovering at the country’s top children’s hospital in Kyiv, with her head shaved and tied, with a tube protruding from the top to drain the fluid. War in Ukraine – latest updates Image: Sophia’s next big challenge is to start walking again Image: A brain scan shows where the shrapnel fell on Sophia’s brain “I was standing next to my mother and I heard an explosion,” he said, speaking in a soft, fragile voice, about the March 5 violence that changed their lives. “I ran – only three steps. Then I heard another explosion. And then I lost consciousness.” A military tour had erupted in their home. Sophia and her mother Liudmila, 48, were standing outside at the time. They did not want to give their last names for security reasons. The area from which they come is still under threat from Russian forces. “I woke up when my parents took me to the basement of our house. My mom took my legs and my father my arms. And then I fainted again.” Key developments: • At least 33 people were killed in a Russian rocket attack on a regional government building in the port of Mykolaiv • A Red Cross motorcade will make another attempt to evacuate civilians from the besieged city of Mariupol • Pope Francis condemns launches “wild” war and says it may visit Kyiv • Russia to suspend cooperation on International Space Station due to sanctions • US to provide additional security assistance to Ukraine, including laser-guided missile systems Image: Her mother thought she had just had a concussion in the beginning Her mother was slightly injured, with a cut next to her bleeding left eye. At first she did not realize that her daughter needed urgent medical help, thinking instead that she might have just had a concussion. “Only once in the hospital did I realize there was something in her head,” she said. They had gone to their local hospital in the nearby town of Mykolaiv, near the Black Sea. The doctors there managed to stabilize Sophia and put the tube in her head. But they did not have the special equipment needed to remove the toothed piece of metal that had leaked into her skull and stopped in the middle of her brain. Image: Ukraine said on Saturday that its forces had occupied all areas around Kyiv What are the chances of a peace agreement with Russia to end the conflict The only place in Ukraine with the ability to treat a young teenager was Ohmatdyt Children’s Hospital in Kyiv – about 250 miles away, in a country that had become a war zone. After almost three weeks of waiting, Lyudmila managed to transport her daughter there safely through the city of Odessa. Doctors immediately did a CT scan to better understand the injury. Pavlo Plavskyi, the hospital’s leading pediatric neurosurgeon, said Sophia’s survival was a miracle. She showed a 3D model of her skull on a computer screen, which showed the shards. If the metal had moved an inch more up, down or to the side it would have hit a vital part of the brain that could have killed it. However, it had stopped – deep in her skull – but without causing bleeding. “She had some signs of inflammation and the inflammation could be bleeding, so we decided to remove it,” said the surgeon. Image: Sophia is recovering at a leading children’s hospital in Kyiv “Ukraine has the best doctors in the world” The operation took place the next day. Lyudmila admitted that it was the only time she allowed herself to cry. “I was told this operation was really serious and difficult,” he said. “But now I believe that Ukraine has the best doctors in the world. And now I believe that the hands of doctors are controlled by God. It is a miracle.” The surgeon was sure. Asked if he had felt nervous about the procedure, he joked: “I’m a crazy neurosurgeon! “Always, just before an operation, I imagine how to do it. I imagine what I will do. I make preparations before the operation.” The process took only an hour and a half. “I’m very fast,” said the surgeon. He had to cut off an upper part of the skull, use long instruments to go deeper into the brain and retract the shrapnel, and then return the part of the skull. As for how he felt when he pulled the object, he said, “Fine – take a picture!” Use the Chrome browser for a more accessible video player 0:36 The city occupied by Russia in the first days of the war was recaptured in late March Subscribe to Ukraine War Calendars on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify and Spreaker Sophia, speaking on Saturday, said that she had already started to feel better from the operation that was done three days earlier. He is recovering in a bed in the basement of the hospital – safe from the threat of air raids that still hangs over Kyiv. Other patients choose to go up to the ward during the day and then just sleep underground, but this is still not enough. Her next big challenge is to start walking again. It is not clear how long he will need to stay in the hospital, but he has high ambitions to learn how to play the guitar as soon as he can return home. “I can also read music,” he said. “I’m dreaming of a guitar because ours broke. My dad promised to fix it. That’s why I’m dreaming of it. I want to have a black one.”